Toyota has taken home the victory today at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, which is the first time its come taken home a win. Even more significant is that Toyota took the first and second spots.

Toyota 24 Hours of Le Mans

Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Fernando Alonso in the #8 TS050 Hybrid started from pole position and took the chequered flag, while Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José María López came in second in the #7 TS050 Hybrid. Today’s victory marks only the second time in history that a Japanese automaker has won the race. The first time was Mazda back in 1991.

Toyota 24 Hours of Le Mans

“It’s great to be here finally; it has been a long time. I am almost speechless,” remarked Kazuki Nakajima. “I had great team-mates and Toyota gave us a very strong car. We finished the race without any issue on both cars so I feel we all deserved to win the race. To win this race has been a big dream for all of Toyota since 1985. There have been many people involved in this project so I am proud to be here to represent all that effort.”

Before today’s win, Toyota had entered 47 cars at Le Mans and finished on the podium six times.

Toyota 24 Hours of Le Mans

“Finally, we won 24 Hours of Le Mans this year,” stated Akio Toyoda, President, Toyota Motor Corporation. “Of course this is another step towards the next challenge so I would like to ask your continuous support from now on too. Thank you very much. “Thank you for driving all out!”

Following today’s win, the team will now prepare for the third round of the FIA World Endurance Championship, the 6 Hours of Silverstone, on August 17-19.

Source: Toyota